Ocean County Votes For Guadagno, Murphy

Campaign File Photos

OCEAN COUNTY – The very busy playing field for New Jersey governor was narrowed after primary voters chose Kim Guadagno to represent the Republicans and Phil Murphy to represent the Democrats.

These two candidates won across the state. Here’s how they did in Ocean County:

In the Republican race, Lieutenant Governor Guadagno won 17,966 votes in Ocean County, significantly more than her competitors: Jack Ciattarelli, 5,917; Hirsch Singh, 2,885; Joseph Rullo, 2,098, and Steven Rogers, 1,069. There were 78 write-in votes.

The race was closer for the Democrats. Murphy won 6,967 votes, just barely besting John Wisniewski, who had 6,614 votes. This is followed by Jim Johnson, 2,864; Raymond Lesniak, 1,165; Mark Zinna, 669; and William Brennan, 503. There were 55 write-ins.

These figures come from Ocean County. They are unofficial figures until they are certified.