Unsung Hero Awards Recognize Ocean County Students

Photo courtesy Ocean County Prosecutor's Office

OCEAN COUNTY – They’re not the star athletes or academics, but their stories of overcoming adversity have caught the attention of school administrators. These students from across Ocean County were awarded the 2018 Ocean County Prosecutor/Ocean County Association of School Administrators “Unsung Hero” Student Recognition Awards.

Schools were asked to submit one name of a student in their highest grade level who have overcome adversity and shown improvement.

County prosecutor Joseph D. Coronato and Ocean County School Administrators president Loren B. Fuhring announced the winners.

The awards ceremony was held at Frog Pond Elementary School in Little Egg Harbor. The students received their certificate in “You Make A Difference” folders, along with a commemorative DVD.

“This is a good day – this is your day – a day you will always remember. An award represents recognition for something very special that you and you alone were able to accomplish. We should never underestimate the importance of recognizing someone even for the smallest achievement or accomplishment,” Coronato said at the ceremony. “Always remember, life is what you make it – and as the recipients of these awards, you have already shown us that whatever you put your mind to you can accomplish.  It is not always the monumental accomplishments that make people notice us, sometimes it is the tiny little things that make you shine and be recognized.”

The recipients are: Alexis Mackiewicz, Tuckerton Elementary School; Seth Edwards, Toms River High School South; Leslie Yupa, Toms River High School North; Samantha Convery, Toms River High School East; Madelyn Beirne, Stafford Intermediate School; Danielle Shepherd, Point Pleasant Borough High School; Hunter Clark, Point Pleasant Beach High School; Jillian Williams, Pinelands Regional High School; Andres J. Acevedo, Ocean Gate Elementary School; Anthony Brenner, Ocean County Vocational Technical School – Waretown Center; Jerrod Jordan, Ocean County Vocational Technical School – Toms River Center; Grace Cocanower, Ocean County Vocational Technical School – MATES; Taylor Kurinzi, Ocean County Vocational Technical School – Lakehurst Center; Herman Irizarry, Ocean County Vocational Technical School – Jackson Center; Sergio Cortes, Ocean County Vocational Technical School – Brick Center; Justin Pritikin, New Egypt High School; Jerry Ward, Manchester Township High School; Isaac Enu, Lavallette Elementary School; Michelle Elias, Lakewood Middle School; Shaniah Sky Morris, Lakehurst Elementary School; Benjamin Werner, Lacey Township High School; Allison Brown, Jackson Memorial High School; Samantha Burger, Jackson Liberty High School; Shayla Buser, Island Heights Elementary School; Joseph Lopez, Hugh J. Boyd, Jr., Elementary School; Logan Buffin, George J. Mitchell Elementary School; Faith Barreau, Frog Pond Elementary School; Ethan Grabich, Eagleswood Township Elementary School; Elizabeth McGee-Shearin, Central Regional High School; Olivia Kenny, Brick Township High School; Connor Buckley, Brick Memorial High School; Kellen Hess, Berkeley Township Elementary School; and Richard Fasolo, Barnegat High School.