Ocean County Police Academy Holds 110th Graduation Ceremony

Graduates march during the recently held 110th Ocean County Police Academy graduation ceremony. (Photo courtesy Ocean County)

  OCEAN COUNTY – The 110th Class of the Ocean County Police Academy marked the completion of months of intensive training as they participated in graduation ceremonies at Ocean County Park, Lakewood.

  Berkeley Township Police Chief Kevin Santucci provided the keynote address and Director of the Ocean County Board of Commissioners Gary Quinn spoke to the graduates on behalf of the Ocean County Board of Commissioners.

  Reverend James Occhipinti provided the invocation and benediction during the outdoor ceremony and Law Enforcement Training Coordinator William J. Dikun was the master of ceremonies. 

  Graduates and their respective police departments include: Michael Balsamo, Jr., Alternate Route; Terence K. Berkeley, Brick Township Police Department; Evan A. Burton, Berkeley Township Police Department; Michael R. Collins, Jackson Township Police Department; Maurice A. Jackson, Kean University Department of Public Safety; Matthew A. Lanza, Alternate Route; Paul J. McMillan, Jr., Lakewood Township Police Department; Andrew J. Noorman-Hilling, Brick Township Police Department; Joshua R. Packen, Berkeley Township Police Department; Thomas J. Parise, Jackson Township Police Department; Michael A. Sheehan, Lakewood Township Police Department; Devon J. Tasso, Berkeley Township Police Department; Anthony J. Tortorici, Brick Township Police Department; Michael J. Villalba-Vasquez, Lakewood Township Police Department; Robert L. Zilavetz, Berkeley Township Police Department.

Officers salute speakers and guests at the recently held Ocean County Police Academy graduation ceremony. (Photo courtesy Ocean County)

   Those graduates receiving awards at the ceremony were: Michael A. Sheehan, Lakewood – James J. Tracey Leadership Award, High Marksmanship Class Award, and Perfect Score Award; Terence K. Berkeley, Brick – PTC Merit Award Winner; Terence K. Berkeley, Brick – High Academic Class Award; Michael R. Collins, Jackson – High Overall Class Award; Matthew A. Lanza, Alternate Route – High Physical Fitness Class Award; and Robert L. Zilavetz, Berkeley – Perfect Score Award.