Freeholder, State Committee Primary Candidates Filed

(Photo by Daniel Nee)

OCEAN COUNTY – Several candidates for the Ocean County Freeholder seat filed to represent their parties in the primary, and state political committee candidates also filed their candidacy.

In the freeholder race, two Republicans are vying for representation on the ballot in November. Incumbent Joseph Vicari, 1664 Shady Lane, Toms River, is representing the Regular Republican Organization of Ocean County. Jenny Heinz, 812 Jane Dr., Manahawkin, is representing Ocean County Conservative Republicans.

Democrat Helen Dela Cruz, 432 Carr Street, Forked River, is running unopposed for the chance to represent her party in November.

The freeholder term is for three years.

The State Committees of both parties are also running candidates for four-year terms. These positions are for one male and one female member.

  The Republicans are running Thomas Kelaher, 15 Cranmoor Dr., Toms River and Virginia Haines, 497 Batchelor Street, Toms River.

There will be some competition on the Democrats’ side. All of the candidates are representing the Official Regular Democratic Organization.

Three candidates are running for the male position, including Wyatt Earp, 864 Paul Dr., Toms River; Jon Salonis, 15 Bowsprit Dr., Bayville; and John Kostopoulos, 1044F Long Beach Blvd., North Beach.

The three female candidates are Marta Harrison, 946 Princewood Ave., Lakewood; Eileen Della Volle, 514 North Lake Shore Dr., Brick; and Sarah Collins, 264 Forge Rd., West Creek.

The primary election will be held on June 6.