Howell School Board Welcomes Three Members For 2023

Cristy Mangano, Alexandria Langenberger and Joseph Mauer Jr. were recently sworn into the board for full-term seats. (Photo courtesy Howell Township Schools)

  HOWELL – The Howell Township Board of Education recently welcomed their newly elected members at this year’s reorganization meeting.

  Back in November, four candidates were fighting to fill three, full-term seats. Two members who were seeking re-election were Laurence Gurman and Cristy Mangano. Two other candidates were Alexandria Langenberger and Joseph Mauer Jr.

  During the reorganization meeting on January 4, Assistant Superintendent/Business Administrator/Board Secretary Ronald Sanasac announced the newly elected members. Mangano, Mauer and Langenberger were officially sworn into the board by Sanasac.

  The 2022 election results are as followed:

  • Joseph Mauer Jr. – 8,997 votes, 28.71%
  • Alexandria Langenberger – 8,827, 28.17%
  • Laurence Gurman – 5,285, 16.87%
  • Cristy Mangano – 7,929, 25.31%
  • Write-In – 295, 0.94%

  The three members will be joining those currently on the board for 2023: Dr. Stephen Levine; Dr. Denise Lowe; MaryRose Malley; Jennifer Okerson; and Ira Thor. Leaving the board and concluding their terms are Mark Bonjavanni and Larry Gurman who were long-serving board members

  Additionally, members of the board nominated those to fill the roles of Board President and Board Vice President. This year, Albert Miller was once again chosen as Board President and Mangano was chosen as Vice President.

  “Congratulations to our re-elected and elected board members. It’s awesome to see the start of a new board cycle. I think great things lie ahead for our school district,” Superintendent of Schools Joseph Isola said. “Also, congratulations to Mr. Miller and Ms. Mangano on their newly appointed presidency and vice presidency.”

  In addition, Marc Parisi was re-elected to the Freehold Regional High School Board of Education as a representative for Howell Township. Parisi was the only candidate running for the one open full-term seat. He received 11,997 votes.

  “Being a public servant is a tremendous honor and a calling bestowed by my grandfather. This is why I chose to wear his jacket again for tonight’s swearing in ceremony. This is the same jacket he wore when he graduated from college in the 1940s. He later taught in the FRHSD,” Parisi wrote in a Facebook post.

  Kathie Lavin was elected as the Farmingdale representative for FRHSD BOE, and Diana Cappiello was elected as the Englishtown representative.