BOE Recognized With Prestigious School Board Certification

Members of the Howell BOE were presented with a prestigious NJSBA award. (Photo courtesy Howell Township School District)

  HOWELL – Members of the Howell Township Board of Education were recently recognized for receiving the Carole E. Larsen Master Board Certification.

  “Our board was recognized with a very prestigious award; One that is not easily obtained. (Only) a small percentage of New Jersey School Boards received this recognition,” Superintendent of Schools Joseph Isola said.

  According to the New Jersey School Boards Association’s website, The Carole E. Larsen Master Board Certification (MBC) is awarded in recognition of high performing boards. The board must provide evidence to demonstrate an emphasis on student achievement in their board actions.

  The award was created in 2007 after the passing of Carol E. Larsen, who lived in Morris County and was a New Jersey School Boards Association field service representative.

  The website states in order to earn the Carole E. Larsen Master Board Certification, a currently Certified board within the first two years of earning its certification, must also complete at least 10 additional hours of training for a total of 26 board credits.

  Currently, the Howell Township Board of Education consists of the following members: Board President Albert Miller, Board Vice-President Mark A. Bonjavanni, Laurence Gurman, Stephen Levine, Denise M. Lowe, MaryRose Malley, Cristy Mangano, Jennifer Okerson, and Ira Thor.

  At a recent Board of Education meeting, the certification was presented to the members, reflecting their dedicated hard work and leadership. The certification is represented for fall 2022 and is the highest recognition for a school board in New Jersey.

  “I thank you for your commitment to our school district and community. I’m telling you, very few school boards reach this level. We are privileged and fortunate to have a caring school board as we do who are committed to their education as school board members. We thank the board for their hard work,” Superintendent Isola said.